Register to the newsletter:




Universal Biotech Innovation Grant

Universal Biotech is launching the Innovation Grant in the aim of making it a major event on the European biotechnology scene.

The Universal Biotech Innovation Grant encourages innovative talent and the development of new processes or products in the biotechnology industries sector.


The Award Ceremony will be held during EuroBiO 2009.



The Universal Biotech Innovation Grant will be based on three objectives:


The emphasis for the 2009 Universal Biotech Innovation Grant will be placed on therapeutic innovation. The applications must be entered under one of the two following thematic areas:

Therapy targeted

Diagnostic products


The participants must be :
- A French or European Young Innovative Company
- A French or European research team member
- Individual

The innovations will be evaluated in accordance to the following criteria :
- Scientific quality of the innovation
- Project progress stage
- Intellectual and industrial property
- Medical need and positionning
- Resources quality
- Success chances


For 2009, the jury will be under the adjudication of Jean Derégnaucourt, director of the biotechnology department and of the technology management department of the French Ministry of Research.


The jury will be made up of members of well-known French and European institutions :

Gilles BLOCH - General Director at the Research and Innovation Department, Ministry of Higher Level Education and Research

Patrick CHAUSSEPIED - Biology and Health department manager, ANR

Jean DEREGNAUCOURT – Innovation Grant Jury President

Véronique DUFEY – Evaluation Director at Ifremer

Jacques GRASSI – Director of the “ Technologies for Health" Institute

Jean Marc GROGNET –Deputy Director at DGE : "Industries and Technologies of the Living, Chemistry, and Materials" – Scientific Director of the Technological Research Office– CEA

Stéphane HOGAN (MSc, MBA) – Head of Coordination Unit, Directorate Health research, DG Research, European Commission.

Olivier LALAUDE – Medical Director, Laboratoires MSD-Chibret

Pierre Noël LIRSAC – President of Adebiotech - Deputy Director of the "Technologies pour la Santé" program (CEA)

Rafi MARDACHTI – CEO of Universal Medica Group

Pierre TAMBOURIN – Director of Genopole

Etienne VERVAECKE – General Director of Eurasanté



A Grant up to 100 000 euros will be shared by two or three winners.

These grants will be awarded after a selection process and a critical evaluation of the candidates applications by an expert jury.

Universal Biotech will assist the winners through their development with certain special privileges and assistance.



© EuroBio 2009 | Credits | edikka
Co-organisers: |